Traffic school can be done once every 18 months measured from the violation date to violation.
Traffic school and traffic school information can be found at the California Traffic Safety Institute’s website. You can find a link on our Helpful Links section or Click Here.
Most single point violations will stay on your record for 3 years (36 months). Major violations such as a Hit-and-Run or a DUI will remain on our record for 10 years. Having too many points on your record can result in your license being suspended.
Per the California DMV your license will be suspended or revoked if you have:
4 points with 12 months,
6 points within 24 months, or
8 points within 36 months.
Most courts use the citation/ticket number as the case number. You can find your citation number on the Top Right of the ticket, or running down the Lower Right side of the citation (close to where you signed). Some citations may have letters as well as numbers as part of the ticket number.
If you have received a Courtesy Notice from the court, the citation or case number is often near the top of the notice, typically with other case information like, violation date, and cited violations.
For many violations the fines themselves are often fairly small. What drives the final total owed to the court are the other fines/fees that are ordered in addition to the initial fine. While the fine for a violation may be $35.00, there will always be additional “penalties and assessments” and other fees calculated into the cost of the fines due, often totaling $300.00 to $400.00 or more.
Under the Interstate Driver’s License Compact (DLC) 46 states and the District of Columbia share traffic violation and conviction information.
The states that DO NOT participate in the DLC are: